Shopping list: glitter that can kill you.

5 Mar

Winding down our Sunday, the kids decided to take a break from basement roller hockey and made a little science project. If you’ve never seen it, there’s a neat little trick you can do to create a whirlpool using two empty two-liter bottles.

DIY whirlpool; lots of whirling going on in there.

It’s a fairly simple experiment and not horribly complicated to create–or get to work. The kids were pretty intrigued by the cyclone effect. I honestly didn’t see the big deal with the whole execution since it’s basically just what you see every time you flush a toilet. But being that my kids seldom (to never) flush, I guess I see the potential novelty with the “experiment.” There are even kits you can buy to make the assembly a little easier. We just used old faithful for our tool: duct tape.

Apparently, you can also do fancy things with your cyclone’s water. Today, we used some orange food coloring for that nice (inadvertent) “whiskey” effect. But the boys wanted more, they wanted to step it up a notch. They wanted to make the experiment their own. They wanted…to put glitter in the water. (Yes, my boys.)

So, I began pulling out craft supplies in the quest for glitter. Boxes and boxes of googly eyes, pipe cleaners, embroidery floss, candy molds, felt. Wait, I found it–glitter!

But, oh no! The only glitter I had was edible. Edible glitter! But the boys were still ecstatic. I explained that this type of glitter would most likely dissolve in the water and not look very cool. They would need *real* glitter for their trick–not the easily broken-down edible type. They were apprehensive of my warnings. So, I handed over my coveted cookie-making supply and let them have at it. It looked like glitter to them; they were one step closer to their dream: a real live glitter suspension whirlpool. (basically, children’s Goldschlager.)

So, of course it didn’t work. The edible glitter almost immediately dissolved in the cyclone. There was slight disappointment. They still played with it for a while. Then they used the assembled experiment as some sort of eastern martial art weapon. And then, finally, they went back to playing basement roller hockey. Abandoning the cyclone.

Getting ready for bed tonight, one of my 8-year-olds looked at me, point blank, and said, “Mummy, tomorrow on your way home from work, can you stop at the store and buy real glitter–the kind of glitter that can kill you? For our whirlpool?”

So, tomorrow, to make a young boy’s dream come true, I am going to buy a big canister of glitter. Non-edible glitter. Beautiful, non-disintegrating, deadly glitter.

Edible glitter. Note: NOT available at specialty stores catering to gay assassins.

8 Responses to “Shopping list: glitter that can kill you.”

  1. Lisa March 5, 2012 at 7:35 am #

    “children’s goldschlager.” this whole post had me laughing all the way through. i love your sense of humor!

    • motherallie March 5, 2012 at 9:45 am #

      Thank you! Weird, but I had actually forgotten about Goldschlager until this whole situation jarred some distant memory (probably repressed because of a very, very, very bad experience? Eww, I can still taste it if I close my eyes.) Glad you enjoyed reading it!

      • Lisa March 5, 2012 at 10:54 am #

        children’s goldschlager could replace shirley temples at wedding bars.

      • motherallie March 5, 2012 at 11:18 am #

        Yes! So good…served with LOTS of fruit on one of those dangerous “cocktail swords.”

  2. Mary Alice Carr March 5, 2012 at 2:00 pm #

    please send them immediately to google “glitter bomb”

    • motherallie March 5, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

      Oh. It’s been duly googled. Thank you MAC.

  3. Lisa Gross March 5, 2012 at 10:08 pm #

    Someone pulled out Goldschlager at a party this weekend. I was having flashbacks of that syrupy hot stuff at the Attic in Oakland. Good times!

    • motherallie March 5, 2012 at 10:33 pm #

      Ugh, Lisa, I know! I think I blocked it out of my memory! The Attic…blast from the past.

Leave a Reply

