Parenting: Your Disney PSA

10 Feb

I am a non-confrontational person. It’s just my nature. I know and understand the topics that cause the most vehement, animated, thoughtful, and sometimes just plain angry discourse…and usually stay very far away from them. It’s difficult to change someone’s opinion, you can just love them and respect them and hope they do the same back to you.

Growing up, you are told that there are certain topics to avoid in polite conversations. The big ones: money, politics, and religion. Do yourself a favor and add “Disney” to that list. If you ever publicly speak ill of Disney or critique it in any way, please–be prepared. People Love Disney (TM) and they think something is wrong with you if you don’t. You need to know. No one else but me is going to have the balls to tell you this. You’re welcome.

10 Responses to “Parenting: Your Disney PSA”

  1. Just February 10, 2012 at 4:24 pm #

    I love criticizing Disney, and the karma has rewarded me in a funny way for it. My new and darling boyfriend is a former Disney employees, and he LOVED working for Disney. He loves the movies. He loves the songs. He is essentially this big, loving, hippie dork who adores the empire created by Walt Disney. So now, I have to deal with that.

    • motherallie February 10, 2012 at 4:26 pm #

      This is one of the most hilarious things I have ever had the pleasure of having to read from you. In so many ways… : )

      • motherallie February 10, 2012 at 4:32 pm #

        Also, I have been to Disney. Twice. As an adult. I made my mind up that I would never feel *obliged* to take my children when I sat at a bench and looked around at the crowd. I saw neither magic nor fun happening. I saw misery. I know that people enjoy it, and I think that’s great. I actually enjoy hearing about their adventures! I just have a different opinion of the experience based on my visits.

    • motherallie February 10, 2012 at 4:33 pm #

      I am having a FIELD DAY in my head thinking of the two of you taking a road trip or something…and he’s all like, hey, let’s listen to something else. And he pops in, like, the Beauty and the Beast soundtrack. *laughing*

  2. Kristen A February 10, 2012 at 6:53 pm #

    My husband and I were both very anti-Disney for so many years. My children are still not allowed to watch “Bambi” because of its negative portrayal of hunters and foresters (his rule, not mine). Jason tried to keep the girls away from everything Disney, and I had no desire to go to Disneyworld. We finally got a really good deal on a trip with free dining and lots of other freebies and it was too good to pass up. Long story short, we loved it! I am not one of those crazy people who talk about Disney *magic* and I still don’t like most of the princesses, except the one with the frog and Rapunzel, but I do have to say that the parks were really clean and the staff super helpful. There were no surley carney folks at the parks! Am I completely sold on Disney? No…but it did make for some nice memories.

    • motherallie February 12, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

      I actually love to hear about Disney from people who enjoy it! I do! And I know you and your family had a great time there. I just feel that my personal aversion to it is misunderstood. It has been viewed as borderline sacrilege. I’m not a crowd person, I have a child that frequently just abandons us (I don’t have him on a leash, but he has helped me to *understand* why people employ this tactic), I am not a normal “consumer” (gift shops depress me), I hate to fly, I don’t enjoy being hot, and perhaps the biggest impediment is my lack of openness to the “magic.” I just wish that when I would bring up any of these points in polite conversation with others (after I interestingly listen to their 2 hour Disney field report #thishappened), people wouldn’t look at me like I just farted in church.

  3. Lisa February 11, 2012 at 7:46 am #

    So funny – and so true! Even as a kid I was never a big Disney, except for “Fantasia.” Do you remember those Fisher Price movie cassette viewfinder toys from the 70s? I loved the “Fantasia” one because I could wind it counterclockwise and make the magic brooms march backwards. I have never been to World or Land and I don’t plan on it anytime soon.

    • motherallie February 12, 2012 at 1:15 pm #

      Oh Lisa, I DO remember those F-P viewfinders…you really jarred a favorite (and forgotten) childhood memory there. And strangely, I also remember one of mine having a broom scene in it! (weird) I just feel that Disney is a “manufactured fun” experience, so I guess that it works for a lot of people (the parks are clean, the food is decent, kids really dig a lot of the characters…wait, shit, am I talking myself INTO a Disney vacation?…Ha! Kidding). But, seriously, I get it. I just want people to get that it’s not for me. Thanks for your solidarity. 🙂

  4. momshieb February 12, 2012 at 3:22 pm #

    Even though I do love the Disneyworld experience, I have a really funny story for you. We took our kids there twice. The first time my middle child was seven years old and sort of the rigid type. He didn’t like surprises, noise or major changes in his routine (make that “any changes in his routine”.) The first morning of our trip, as we strolled through the Magic Kingdom trying to decide where to start our fabulous adventures, he had an absolute meltdown. The other two kids went off with Dad to ride the Teacups, but I stayed to try to calm Middle Boy down a bit. “What’s wrong, honey?”, I asked. “I hate this place!” he cried. “There’s nothing to do!”
    We found an isolated spot behind a building where we had a snack and stared at a blank wall for ten minutes until his overstimulation could subside. At 21 years old now, he still laughs at that story.

    • motherallie February 12, 2012 at 4:02 pm #

      Thanks for sharing! That’s totally something my youngest would do (he reacts similarly to routine changes, noise, and stimulation)! Awesome that he still remembers this and that you can laugh about it all these years later!

Leave a Reply

