{why i can’t have nice things} including (possibly) my kids’ fingers

31 Aug

“A weekly, or as close as I can get to weekly, ritual (who am I kidding that I think I can do this every week). Some photos – with or without tons of explanation – capturing a moment from the week.

A simple, special, extraordinary moment. A moment I want to pause, savor and remember. A moment that makes me remember why exactly it is that I can’t have nice things (but someday will).”

**A twisted step-cousin twice-removed of www.soulemama.com‘s {this moment}.

************************************************************************************

Hi! This is my new electric pencil sharpener, a fun new back-to-school “gift” I recently bought for my kids. (manual sharpeners are sooo 1st grade.)

image

She's a beauty, ain't she?

As you might see if you’ve got an eye for these sort of things, It’s an X-ACTO brand. It’s also missing the shaving receptacle cover (3 days into ownership–not bad). The other morning, I walked into the kitchen, froze, and then gasped with horror. There, there at the breakfast table was one of my older kids gently guiding my 3-year-old’s fingertip into the sharpening tube (or whatever the hell it’s called).

X-ACTLY where it should not be.

No fingers were lost/maimed in the making of this post, but I see a Group W Bench in one of these kids’ future.

image

The author re-enacting the events of the breakfast incident.

3 Responses to “{why i can’t have nice things} including (possibly) my kids’ fingers”

  1. Heather September 16, 2011 at 10:00 am #

    oh. my.

  2. Mary Alice Carr November 3, 2011 at 10:04 am #

    We had a great time sitting on the bench filling out the forms and PLAYING WITH THE PENCILS.

    • motherallie November 3, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

      “…then they allll moved away from me there on the Group W bench…”

Leave a Reply

